2500 28th Street - PO Box 57 - Slayton, MN 56172

County Commissioners

Murray County is governed by the Board of Commissioners. These elected officials represent the five districts of the county and serve staggered terms of office.

The government of Murray County was formally organized in 1872. The two government buildings, located at the south end of Broadway Avenue are the center point of county government activity. The traditional County Government Offices are located in the Government Center building, and Court Administration and Law Enforcement occupy most of the Courts building.

The Board meets at the Murray County Government Center in the Commissioners Meeting Room – 2500 28th Street – Slayton, MN 56172.

2024 Meeting Dates

January 2nd 16th 23rd
February 6th 20th  
March 5th   26th
April 2nd 16th 23rd
May 7th 21st  
June 4th 18th  
July 2nd 16th  
August 6th 20th 27th
September 3rd 17th 24th
October 1st 15th 22nd
November 5th 19th 26th
December 3th 17th 26th

To appear before the Board, contact the County Administrators Office no later than noon the Wednesday prior to the meeting at which you would like to appear. The Administrative office will need the topic you would like to discuss with the Board for the agenda.  If you have any handouts for the Board, it is helpful if you can forward those ahead of time. Otherwise, you will need to bring a minimum of nine copies to the Board meeting. 

Molly Malone – District 1

Term: 1/1/21 – 1/1/25
Next Election Date: November 2024
Phone: 507-227-9960
Email: mmalone@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Currie
  • City of Dovray
  • Belfast Township
  • Shetek Township
  • Holly Township
  • Dovray Township
  • Des Moines River Township
  • Mason Township
  • Murray Township

Lori Gunnink – District 2

Term: 1/1/17 – 1/1/25
Next Election Date: November 2024
Phone: 507-227-3744
Email: lgunnink@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Lake Wilson
  • City of Hadley
  • Skandia Township
  • Lowville Township
  • Leeds Township
  • Ellsborough Township
  • Cameron Township
  • Chanarambie Township
  • Lake Sarah Township

Dennis Welgraven – District 3

2019 Vice-Chair
Term: 1/1/19 – 1/1/27
Next Election Date: November 2026
Phone: 507-220-3555
Email: dwelgraven@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Chandler
  • City of Iona
  • City of Avoca
  • Lime Lake Township
  • Slayton Township
  • Iona Township
  • Moulton Township
  • Fenton Township

Jackie Meier – District 4

Term: 1/5/23 – 1/1/27
Next Election Date: November 2027
Phone: 507-828-0586
Email: jmeier@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Slayton

Dave Thiner – District 5

Term: 1/8/13 – 1/1/25
Next Election Date: November 2024
Phone: 507-360-1199
Email: dthiner@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Fulda
  • Bondin Township

Carolyn McDonald - County Administrator 

Phone: 507-836-1148
Email: cmcdonald@co.murray.mn.us

Travis Smith – County Attorney

Phone: 507-836-6541
Email: tsmith@co.murray.mn.us

For a list of all Murray County Commissioners from 1872 until present click HERE.

For a map of the Murray County Commissioner Districts click HERE.