2500 28th Street - PO Box 57 - Slayton, MN 56172


Murray Township Board

Meeting Date: Last Monday
Meeting Time: 11:30 a.m.
Meeting Location: Currie Town Hall

Murray Township History

T197N R 40W
Organized August 2, 1872

Murray Township is located in the east, second tier of Murray County. Dovray Township is on its eastern border, Lime Lake on the south, Mason Township of the west, and Shetek Township on the north. Murray Township was named after the same man, as Murray County was, William Pit Murray, of St. Paul.

A portion of Lake Shetek and the Lake Shetek State Park is located in Murray Township. The Des Moines River runs diagonally through the township.

In 1879, the Irish American Colonization Company, which Mr. John Sweeten was a recruiting officer for, brought forth families directly from Ireland and was instrumental in the settlement of this township.

Currie is located in Murray Township. Currie had the first courthouse and was the county seat and from 1872 until June 11, 1899.